An Unusual Day

Today started like any other day.  There was nothing special or unusual about it, other than that my Hubby has Tuesday and Wednesday off from work and I always so look forward to these days with him.  My desire would be that we could spend every day together, night and day.  I love him so much!  But, other than having him home it started as an ordinary day.

We were scheduled for a health screening so that we could get a certain amount off what we pay monthly for our health insurance; our appointment was 9:30 in the morning.  I had been thinking how nice it would be to go out for breakfast after it was over.  One of the great blessings of being married for as long as we have is that you do tend to think along the same track…sometimes.  “Honey”,  he said , “I was just thinking we could go out for breakfast when we are done.”  “Good”, I replied, “I would like that.”

We had our waists measured, for me ok, for him, not so much…he quit smoking in August and he has gained a bit of weight on his middle.  I can’t put him down and push diet, I am so proud of him for doing what he did.    Then they took blood.  I cringe, I close my eyes and the pain prick of the needle comes and I want to cry and say, “No, Why do I have to do this!”   But, I don’t, I am a grown woman after all, not a child.  I remember the needles of the past, I don’t like needles.

It’s over, we make pleasantries with the people he works with and then we leave for the restaurant.  We have gone to this same restaurant many times for several years and several of the servers know us by sight, as does the manager.  Jane is our server today and she welcomes us, takes and serves our order.  The time passes amiably, we are good together, and it is time to go.

As I am walking up front to meet up with him, he went up to pay while I was getting my coat and mittens on, I see the waitresses standing together and one of them is holding her baby grand-daughter, about two months old.  I walk over to her and say, “Hello precious!”.  She is dressed in pink, has big blue eyes with long lashes and long black hair clear down over the tips of her ears.  She smiles at me and our spirits connect.  The other ladies are talking, but I am lost in her eyes and she does not take her eyes off me, even though the others are talking to her.  I am smitten…and I remember…..  

I lay in the hospital bed the morning after delivering my first born.  They brought him in to me and as I held him in my arms I fell in love.  His big blue eyes, his long eyelashes and that wonderfully soft black hair that came down to cover the tips of his ears. I smell that sweet new baby smell.  I can hardly believe that I am his mama …He is so beautiful!  Oh, thank you God!

And there she was, this beautiful baby, who reminded me of my son.  I wanted a girl, but in His wisdom, God did not choose to give me a girl.  I don’t why He chose to give me two boys and no girls…there was hurt and disappointment then, and many tears.  Today, it all came flooding back again when I saw her, andI now as I write this, I feel the hot tears in my eyes, rolling down my cheeks, and once more I must submit it all to Him whom my soul loves more than life itself.

I don’t blame God and I have never been angry about not having a girl child.  He gave me an opportunity and I gave my will to Him.  Since them He has given me a beautiful daughter with dark hair and brown eyes, with long eye lashes and a beautiful smile, who loves me like Ruth loved Naomi…this through her marriage to my son.  Their love brought forth four handsome sons.  My daughter, like me, desired a girl and has had to trust God’s heart when His hand made no sense.

When our second son married he brought a blond haired, blue eyed girl into this family of dark haired people and as products of their love we have grand-children with light colored hair and blue eyes.  The littlest one has darker hair, but not black like her daddy, though she may have his hazel colored eyes and black hair when she is grown.  We will see.

I have also been abundantly blessed with many other spiritual sons and daughters throughout the years, these have added great joy to my life.

Today, I had to put one of my spiritual daughters down and tell her it was time for her to learn to walk by herself.  I know that God has things for me to do ahead, though I don’t always see clearly, my knower knows, and today was the day to stop carrying this girl.  She took it well, but I cried when i hung up the phone.  God, I trust you!

Hubby and I ate supper and watched an old movie with Audrey Hepburn and Peter O’toole called, “How to Steal a Million”.  It was fun.  I had a teacher get on my case about using the word fun, but what else do you do when you live in the frozen north country in Winter? So, I sit on the couch, hubby is in his lazy boy, we are eating off TV trays, which you should never do, so they say, whoever they are, and we were enjoying the movie.  It was FUN!

Now, we spend the rest of the evening relaxing until bedtime somewhere around midnight.  I at my P.C.and he first at his laptop and then he moves on to watching the news on the local TV channel.  He calls himself a “news junkie”.  Not me! 

With that dear reader, I wish you a good night and a blessed tomorrow.  Be well, be happy, keep life simple like a child, it really is easier.  You are loved by God more than you know. May you have many unusual days and peaceful nights!

Joyfully His!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

