Agape and Truth

In 2012 I had one major request:  “God, I want to love like you love.”   This post is a warning to anyone who asks anything from the Lord God, be aware that He may give you the desires of your heart, and that may not be what you thought it would be.

To love as God loves is to love without condition.  For, you see, He pours out His “rain on the just and the unjust.”, upon those who are good and those who are evil.  He loves the good person and He loves the evil person.  Natural human love cannot do that.

The night that Yeshua was born, God stretched out His hand and declared:  “Peace, good will toward men with whom He is well pleased.”  Really?  Well-pleased?  It was one of the worst times in history, the Romans ruled the known world.  They were decadent, self-gratifying, cruel.and very religious.  The emperor of Rome had complete authority and was worshiped as a god.  If you know anything about the creator God and the Bible, you know that one of the things He hates is idolatry.  How then could He say through His messengers, the angels, who sang and spoke to the shepherds that night, that He was well-pleased with men?  

I think this is the reason:  At the foundation of the world that we live in, the beginning of it all, He had a plan, a plan that included this Babe, born in an animal stable in Bethlehem.   He looked ahead with the eyes of Agape, the eyes of unconditional love, He looked at His Son and the price that He had agreed to pay to buy back man-kind, knowing, that out of the billions of people that would be born into the world, as a result of what Yeshua would do, there would be a remnant who would return His love, and He was well pleased. 

It has been said by some that the world we are living in today is not unlike the time that Rome began to gain control of the world.  America has been likened to Rome by some commentators that I have read.  Whether it is or not I will leave to them.  However, as I observe the world around me I do see a world without direction with each person doing what is right in their own eyes.  There appears to be no absolute.

Is that because there is no absolute?  Not in my opinion and certainly, it is not what is taught in the Bible.  Yeshua, Himself taught His disciples that He was truth personified.  When He was examined by the Roman, Pontius Pilate, Yeshua declared:  “Every one that is of the truth hears my voice.”  Pilate’s response: “What is truth.”  That sounds like today to me.

I said all of that to say this:  Truth is a person and that person is Yeshua, the man that English speakers call Jesus. He was not sent into the earth for any other reason than to reveal God’s unconditional love for man-kind.  

I am joyfully His and He is mine, and my heart’s desire is to be like Him, to love what He loves and hate what He hates.  He fully loves people and He fully hates sin.  When I asked  to love like He loved, I was not prepared to experience what He does from the people He loves so much.  Silly me!  Short-sighted me!  I just wanted to be like my Papa, I didn’t know the hurt and pain of rejection from the people He loves so much.

I know now that there are some people who, when loved with Agape, because of the condition of their own heart, their own filters, the walls they have erected because of hurts and wounds suffered, are not able to receive the God kind of love, which is the very thing that could set them free to be the person they desire to be.  So sad!

Rejection is hard, no matter the source, and so I turn to the only one who understands, who experiences rejection constantly.  He comforts me, I forgive, I give it to Him, I give the person who rejected me to Him and love is made whole in me once more, Peace comes and I am so grateful!

Restored, I once more sit at the feet of the Good Shepherd and learn from Him.  He is good!  I love, He loves, we love.

Joyfully His, I am His Joy

Image

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

