Handicapped

Yesterday I went out of the house for the first time in several days.  It felt a bit odd.  I don’t know about you, but I like being active, doing things.  Don’t get me wrong, I need quiet time too, but I was not created for inactivity.  In fact, the Lord lets me know on occasion that I have become a human doing instead of a human being.  LOL!

As I was meandering about town working off my list, I thought of the word handicapped, not a word that you will hear much in today’s politically correct world.  But then, I don’t track a whole lot with that kind of thinking anyway.

I really like words, that is most of them, though there are some words that are ugly.  Anyway, as I was driving to my destinations I was thinking of the meaning of handicapped.  This is not a great word, as words go, but I think it can be a springboard for good and growth.

My Gram used to say, people that were handicapped in some way were “not quite right”.   She meant that they were physically handicapped or mentally retarded.  However, I believe that if you are impaired in some way or another, physical or mental, you are handicapped. I want to share with you a small part of my life with the handicap of being a tall girl in a world of average people.

My uncle, my Mother’s brother, was the father figure in my young life, being a perfectionist, his requirements were a tough standard for a young girl to follow.  As a result, I felt as though I could never quite measure up; I was never quite good enough at whatever I did.  Top that off me being a tall girl, when everyone around me was average in height, and you had the makings of a handicap.

I often heard the words.  “My but you”re (she’s) tall!”, as if it wasn’t obvious to me and everyone else.  Why is it that people call attention to the flaws, the handicaps, that are so clearly seen by all, and most of the time known by the person themselves?  Could one of the possibilities be to take the spotlight off their own insecurity and handicaps?

My point in all of this wandering is that every single person on the face of this God-created earth is, in fact, handicapped in one way or another.  During our teen years  some “flaw or fault” that we had was highlighted by someone, making us want to crawl in a hole and disappear rather than having to face that issue once again, and if it hasn’t happened to you yet, it will…small comfort that, eh?

There has never been a perfect person.  Isaiah 53:2 says that even Jesus was not extraordinary in His physical appearance.  So, why do we place such great importance on the physical body?

I read an article about a contestant in a beauty pageant, who when questioned by a reporter about how she saw herself, was astounded to hear her talk about what she saw as a flaw in her appearance, when, in fact, she appeared to be perfect.  No one is immune to the voices that put you down and make you feel like “less than”.  No one!

Dear reader, we can relax the standard, the bar is too high, we can never measure up to what “they” say, whoever they are.  There is a standard that we can go by, a measure that will change everything for us, and it is a measure that will never change, will never be moved by whether we are good or bad, right or wrong, beautiful or homely, it is the standard of God’s unconditional love for each one of us.

I love what Psalm 139 teaches about the creation of each one of us in our mother’s womb.  It tells us that God was totally involved in that process, watching over it.  He told Jeremiah that He knew him from His mother’s womb and John the Baptist was Spirit-filled from his mother’s womb.  They were just people like us.  We came from God and if we choose His way while we live here on earth, then we can go to be with Him when we leave this earth suit behind.

Handicaps?  My point is that we all are handicapped in one way or another, but it is not the fact of a handicap that needs to rule us, it is our attitude and what we do that will make the differance in our life.  Circumstances do not have to determine who or what we will be, we can become bitter or we can become better, it is our decision.  When you realize that God accepts you just as you are in Jesus, through Jesus, the next step is to accept yourself as you are and begin to grow up into a mature man or woman.

For many years I suffered from rejection and insecurity, and occasionally those old accusations do try to resurface, but I choose to use those times to grow.  I will always be tall, God gave me the DNA that I have, it is my task to use it for His glory.  I desire to be the best me that I can be and when being tall feels like a handicap, I remember that my Father in Heaven loves me, accepts me as I am and invites me to grow up to be like Jesus.  I choose to see what felt like a handicap as an advantage and behave accordingly.

Hope your day is going well friends, blessings to you from Heaven’s love.

Joyfully His,

Joy

Leave a Reply

