Perspective-Perception

Yesterday we observed our 49th wedding anniversary.  I am not sure why, but it seemed like a milestone to me.  At one point I was thinking about the Jubilee year when all debts were cancelled, slaves were set free and property was returned to the rightful owner.  How that would apply to us at this point I don’t know, but I sense that as we go into our 50th year together something will be different.

Our story, our life together, has not always been easy, as no doubt any who have been married a long time can vouch for.  When two people who are so different from each other come together there is going to be ongoing adjustment, which brings me to the matter of perspective.

I recently watched a minister teach his congregation that your perspective will color your perception and yesterday as we stood at the place where the local creek goes over a huge precipice and becomes the falls, I thought how glad I was that my perspective was at the top of the falls looking down, because my perception was that at that point where the water went over the ledge crashing to the bottom, it was raw power and violent energy.

The gorge we stood by was very deep.  A sign by the falls tells the story of it being formed during the ice age; the movement of the ice and the water must have been very powerful to cut the solid rock we observed.  As the ice and water flowed, earth was cut away violently, rock layers cut, crushed and moved by the power of that flow.

Today the creek meanders lazily from its source throughout the area, until it comes to the falls where one is reminded of the distant past that formed this area.

How often our lives are like the gorge near the falls, cut out in our past, reflecting the changes made by our circumstances where sometimes the change is good and sometimes it is not.

Perspective depends on where you are and the lens through which you view what is in front of you.  Your past experience colors your current experience and that colors your perception of what you are experiencing now.

So often, who I am right now, at this moment, is colored by my circumstances, by my emotions, my thinking.  My perspective will color my perception of what I am experiencing.  Your perception can be false produced by an incorrect perspective.

Think about this:  II Kings chapter 6 and 7 tells the story of a famine in the land of Israel, the prophet Elisha tells the king that the next day there will be plenty of food, while one of the kings men said:  “If the Lord would make windows in heaven, might this thing be?”  To which Elisha replied:  “Behold, thou shalt see it with thine eyes, but shalt not eat thereof.”  To the king’s man and from his perspective, even God Himself could not change the circumstances they were in.  His perception was that this was not possible.

Elisha heard from God.  It is not recorded that he knew how it would happen, but He knew His God had spoken and it would happen.  The next morning, through a totally unexpected source the Word of the Lord was fulfilled and the man who did not believe was trampled upon by the people in their rush to get food, thus fulfilling what Elisha had spoken.

How often are we confined by our limited perspective, based upon our past experience, confined in a box of our own acceptance, which makes a miracle impossible?  We do not need to stay in these boxes.  God wants to set us free to dream and to be more than our limited perception allows.

Yesterday morning the Lord told me that He wants to bring blessings to me, but He told me that I limit what He can do because I don’t have the capacity to receive the blessings that He wants to bring, nor do I have the understanding and will that I need to have for these blessings to come to me and through me.

How sad that my perception of Him, caused by my perspective of past experiences, limits the blessing He wants to give me.  Lord, deliver me, heal me, set me free to dream your dream, that I may receive all you want me to be and have.

How many of us are limited, for instance, by a poverty spirit that came upon us because of past circumstances and we can’t seem to get free of it in our thinking.  Our perception is that God is limited by our circumstances and this false perspective keeps us from receiving the blessing of abundance that He wants to give.

Friend, God is good, but how glibly we declare it sometimes, without any real understanding of who our God is and what He wants to do.  Somehow, we have been conditioned to believe that we can “settle” for much less than what He wants for us.

God loved us so much that He sent His own Son to pay a price He didn’t owe for those who owed more than they could pay; may He grant us a changed perspective, that we may see Him as He is and believe that He is “a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him”.  And lastly may our perception of who He is be based upon Truth without any other kind of influence.  May it be so Lord!

Lovingly,

Joy

3 thoughts on “Perspective-Perception

  1. very, very nice. Happy belated 49th Anniversary. What a great blessing. As you know many, many, manydon’t make it this far… Thanks for being my best friend.

    ________________________________

    • Thank you so much for your thoughts, it means a great deal to me. I love our talks about The Lord. You are my forever friend.

Leave a Reply

