Joshua and Caleb

A funny thing happened on the way to life today…

It was about 3:30 this A. M. when I woke up from one of many “sorting dreams” that I regularly have. I must need to get organized really bad because I seem to have so many of these type…not that I can remember what they are about when I wake up, but I know that I am definitely trying to get things in order.

At any rate, it is now late afternoon and by the time I finish this it will be evening, but I need to get my thoughts off my mind, I hope you will bear with me.

When I was a child I wanted to learn how to play the piano. My Grandma, who raised me, allowed me to start, but when she asked the teacher if she thought I had any exceptional talent and the reply was no, she took the lessons away. It was just one more stroke against who I was, I was inferior, I was not good enough to deserve piano lessons.

However, music was so much a part of me that I would come home from school, sit down at the piano and pick out a melody that I had heard on the radio. I could not play with my left hand, but I could play with my right hand, so I did.

As time went on I did learn how to play with my left hand, but only from the old blue “Concordia” hymnal. I did not know the notes, I found them on the keyboard through trial and error. I would pour my heart into the music, it was therapy for my hurting soul. Somehow when I was done I would feel better and I could go on.

Life did go on, so far 76 years have gone by since I entered this world. There have been bad years and there have been good years; good days and bad days in the long journey I am on. It is all preparation…for later. God’s word tells us that we will reign as kings and priests unto our God. That means that we are in training. Here is an example.

Joshua under-studied Moses. He was his servant, he held his coat, got him water to drink and in general did what Moses told him to do. When it came time to spy out the land, Moses chose Joshua to represent the tribe of Ephraim. Caleb was chosen from the tribe of Judah. There were twelve men, one from each tribe, chosen to go in and spy out the land.

They were given these instructions: See what the land is like, is it good or bad, is the soil good or poor, are there many trees, what kind of people live there, are they strong or weak, few or many? And, oh by the way, bring back some of the fruit of that land from the crops that you see.

The men entered into the land and explored it; they were gone for 40 days. When they returned from their exploration, they brought with them grape clusters so large it took two men to carry them, and they brought this report which they gave to the whole community: “We entered the land you sent us to explore, and it is indeed a bountiful country – a land flowing with milk and honey. Here is the kind of fruit it produces, BUT… It is always the but that gets us in trouble… the people living there are powerful and their towns are large and fortified. We even saw giants there.”

Caleb stood up, trying to get the community to be quiet and listen to him. When they finally were quieted down he told them, “We need to go at once for we shall certainly be able to conquer it.” They did not want to hear it, all they could hear was there were giants in the land, and they shut down in fear.

Fast forward many years, the tribes are in the land and Joshua, having picked up the leadership mantle from Moses, is now assigning the portions allotted to each tribe by Moses. The Caleb Company came to Joshua, Caleb leading, “I was forty years old when Moses sent me to explore the land of Canaan. I returned and gave an honest report. I wholeheartedly followed the Lord. I am still living forty-five years since that promise. I am as strong now as I was when Moses sent me on that journey. I can still travel and fight as well as I could then. Give me the hill country that the Lord promised me. You will remember there are giants that live there, but the Lord is with me and I will drive them out!”

Today I spent almost an hour with a member of the Caleb Company. After that I spent considerable time with a member of the Joshua Company. I want to tell you the Spirit of God in them is alive and well in spite of all that the enemy has tried to do in these two generations.

Godly parents make a tremendous difference in the life of the young, but who advocates for the elderly to be treated as God sees them and not as though they do not have a brain left in their head and can barely navigate this world? Dignity, we all need it, no matter what our age is.

There are still giants in the land, giants of fear, doubt and unbelief, giants of insecurity, condemnation and accusation; these giants trouble the followers of the Lord, sowing bad seed into their souls, not allowing Holy Spirit to lead them in the way they should go, speaking negative even hurtful words through those who claim to love them. All of this designed to prevent the Kingdom of God from coming upon the earth.

But, the King is upon His throne and there is no danger of Him being deposed. David was king in training, he was in a character molding process for many years before he actually possessed the throne. We are being trained for ruling and reigning with our King. It is a process. Please be patient with others who are in the process with you.

We each have been called by God to be a part of His Kingdom. Some of us have come in the prescribed way, Jesus being the Way, others have said, “No, thank you.”, still others have not heard the offer yet, but when they do they will accept it and come on in. We all have our part on the stage of life, some more and some less, but all have a part of the final outcome.

King Jesus has come into the Earth, taken on the Kingdom of Darkness and won, He has taken possession of the land and given us the spoils of war. We can possess our possessions, if we will. They are free to whosoever will. It starts with a decision to follow the King. No one is too old, no one is too young.

I, for one, am tired of us seeing each other after the flesh. God does not look at the outward appearance, but at the heart. “As He is so are we in this world.” Let us act like it!

God is going to show up and show out shortly before the church age is over. I believe that little ones will bring forth a Word from the Lord, the elderly who have been written off by their family, or the church family, will go about doing good and astounding everyone with the signs, wonders and miracles done in the name above every name. Those that the world considers unproductive will be productive before this is over.

It is going to take all of us to finish the job and go home. Let us not dismiss the very young or the elderly, or think that God can only use a select group of people. God is not limited, a donkey talked to a prophet when he was beaten by him, nothing is impossible with God, He only needs our will.

Let us encourage each other. You who are in the prime of life, don’t miss out on the blessing of the groups on either side of you. See through the eyes of youth that there are no limits, receive from the elderly the wisdom they have gained by the years of living upon this earth.

The Joshua Company is exploring, seeking, knocking what will they find; have you left them a legacy?

The Caleb Company is rising, don’t count us out, we are not done yet! We just may surprise you.

In Him,
Joy

Leave a Reply

