Sin, Righteousness and Judgment

In all of my 77 years there has not been a time like there is in this hour of history..  I have traveled to many countries of the world, and I know that I shall go again to others before my sojourn here is over.  None of the countries that I have visited is like America, none…and yet…the America that I am seeing today is hardly recognizable when compared to the country that I grew up in.  But, before I make my point today, I want to declare what I believe.

I am a believer in the Hebrew God of the Bible, Yahweh, who according to the Bible is the only true God, the creator of all that exists, who was, who is and who is to come. And I believe in His Son Yeshua, called by the English name Jesus, who fulfilled the plan and purpose of His Father perfectly, having given His life blood that men might live in God’s presence without sin separating them from Him and I believe in the Holy Spirit, the Ruach ha Kodesh who was sent to cohabit with every believer. This is my God whom I trust, He has been faithful and kind to me since I met Him.  I give Him place, I honor Him and I stand in His presence with godly fear for “He is God and there is no other”.  (Isaiah 45:5)  I believe that the Bible is the infallible, inerrant Word of God.  This belief is the basis for my faith.  This is the firm and solid rock upon which I stand.  Though I may be unfaithful, He is faithful and will “never leave me or forsake me.”  Hebrews 13:5

Repentance.  Every believer in Jesus the Messiah has come to a place of repentance for rebellion against God, for going his own way, not.God’s way.  You cannot call yourself a Christian if you have not repented of sin. “There is none who does good, no not one.”  (Psalm 14:3)  “All have sinned and come short of the Glory of God.”  (Romans 3:23) This is the condition of fallen mankind in God’s eyes, according to the Old Covenant and the New Covenant.

Having laid the foundation for the condition of sin, of righteousness and judgment I would like to address something that disturbs me.  I don’t know if you have noticed it or not, but there is a different standard being used to measure in this hour.  I have stated in prior offerings here that in this time of history we have come to the place where “evil is good and good is evil.”

We have come to the place in America today where every religion is to be accepted, all are to be tolerated and one religion is being promoted as peaceful when in fact its proponents are anything but peaceful.  No one can speak a negative word against this religion without repercussions of some kind.

There is only one faith that is increasingly not accepted, not tolerated and that is Christianity.  People of faith in the God of the Bible are increasingly facing persecution for their faith.    Today it is open season on believers in God.  One thing non-believers may want to keep in mind is that in the past when the Church of God was persecuted it grew, no matter how much God-haters tried to take it out, the opposite happened, it grew and spread all over the known world.

Yesterday a young man was held up before the world for “crimes” he had done as a teen-ager.  He is a believer and as such has repented of these sins and moved on with his life.  Forgiven by God does not mean perfection, but it does mean sin is covered by the Blood of Jesus that was shed for the forgiveness of all sin.  From the point of confession and repentance, there is no condemnation for that sin coming from Heaven.  Forgiven means free.  That is good news.

The people who are pointing their fingers are sinners in God’s eyes, because God has only one standard, one solution for sin and that is the Blood of Jesus shed at Calvary’s hill in Israel.  If you don’t come to Him through the Blood, you are a sinner in His sight and to accuse another is to stand accused before the righteous judge who weighs all hearts.

The adversary of God wants his pound of flesh and will do whatever it takes to get it.  Be advised if you are on the side of the finger pointers, you will find yourself some day being pointed at.  God is not mocked.

In my day it was understood that children in their “teen” years were finding their way.  Very often there was some form of experimentation whether it was their Dad’s cigarettes, cigars or pipe, his choice of liquor, or experimentation with sex.  Most often this experimentation was not lasting as one came into the mid-20’s, married and started a family.  The time I was raised in was a time of “God, Mother and Country”, as someone said. I am speaking of the Midwest, because that is where I grew up; of course, I am aware that this was not the case for everyone.

If I were to use the standard of today as a measure, I was sexually abused by a friend and by relatives.  But, in that day it was a time of experimentation, trying to find your place in the world, trying to find who you were, why you were here and curious oh so curious.  As I said, when you “grew up”, and you “put away childish things.”, (I Corinthian 13:11)  no one thought of it anymore.  Kids were kids, that is just the way it was.  They grew out of it and life went on.  .

People know that no one is perfect.  They know this instinctively.  What they do not know is that a believer in the God of the Bible, who has repented of sin, has been forgiven and they are free.  God who, unlike mankind, also forgets.  This does not mean that a believer never sins from that point on, no, the great Apostle Paul, declared at the end of his life that he was the greatest sinner.  He could not forget that he had persecuted the children of the One he now loved and he knew that a human heart is deceitful.

But God does not leave us hanging when we sin, we have an “advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous”.  (I John 2:1)  We can run to Him and He will forgive. That sin is blotted out of the book of our life, through the Blood of Jesus, as if it never existed.

This is the condition of Josh Duggar, who was crucified yesterday in the media for sin when he was a teen-ager.  He is now 27, married to Anna and they have four children.  Josh is a part of the Duggar family, a Christian family who have made their faith and values public through the TV show, “19 Kids and Counting”.

In a day when the offerings on TV include spoiled children, adulterers, fornicators, mediums, bigamists, and murderers, the Duggar family TV show was a breath of fresh air.  I for one am grieved at what this good family is now going through because the world hates righteousness and searches to find something to accuse anyone who believes in the God of the Bible.

It is plain in the Word of God that persecution will come for faith in God.  It is also clear that the source of that persecution is the devil, the “accuser of the brethren”. (Revelation 12:10)  We should not be surprised.  It is also yet another reminder to us that the coming of the Lord Jesus the Messiah draws near.  It has been declared: “Vengeance is mine, I will repay.”  (Hebrews 10:30)  We have also been told to pray for “those who despitefully use you.”  Matthew 5:44

We choose to forgive the people who have risen up against this righteous family, I pray for the Duggars, but I also pray for the people or person in the media who is responsible for bringing this accusation to the public to shame and humiliate the Duggar family.  They do not realize what they have done.  They have poked a finger in God’s eye.  He loves His kids and He will not let this go without dealing with it.  There will be judgment.  “Some men’s sins are open beforehand, going before to judgment and some men they follow after.” (I Timothy 5:24)  “Though the mills of God grind slowly, yet they grind exceeding small.” Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

I have no doubt that because the Duggar family’s God is also their Father and Jesus is their Savior, that they will arise from this attack stronger than before.  I pray that they will release forgiveness and pray for the media piranhas who are always looking for another juicy story. The Duggars will be fine, I am sure of that.  I have no doubt that many are bringing them to God in prayer.  I pray too, that God will be merciful to the media and move in power to open their eyes, for truly, “they know not what they do.”

I am saddened, but not surprised at the attack that came yesterday and the subsequent cancellation of this wonderful TV program.  It serves as a reminder that we believers are not of this world system, we are only passing through in the 70-90 years that we live here.  Human life is fragile and temporary.

It is written of unbelievers:   “Surely You set them in slippery places; You cast them down to destruction.  Oh, how they are brought to desolation, as in a moment!  They are utterly consumed with terrors.”  Psalm 73: 18-19

A believers confession:  “Whom have I in Heaven but You?  And there is none upon earth that I desire besides You.  My flesh and my heart fail; but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.:  Isaiah 23: 25-26

Where do you stand?  Are you on God’s side or the world’s side.   A decision must be made in this life.  “Now is the day of salvation”  The time of the end draws near, the time of judgment.  Where will you stand in that day?

You are loved by the Lord, the Almighty, Powerful God of Heaven and Earth, but you must believe and receive His way of doing and being right.  Pride will keep you from Him.  Humble yourself and turn to God with all of your heart, soul, mind and body, cry out to God and He will receive you when you come through the Blood of Jesus.

Because I care…Joy

Leave a Reply

