Broken and Poured Out

As I was awakening this morning I heard the words “Broken and Spilled Out”, I immediately thought of Rebecca Pippert’s book of the same title.  I read it many years ago; it had a profound effect on my soul.  At the time I was struggling with something and having a very hard time with it.

I had no idea what was happening to me during that interlude, all I knew was that I felt miserable.  I was in a place in my walk with the Lord Jesus where I thought I should be happy.  I had no idea that I was on the potter’s wheel.

Isaiah the prophet said this:  But now, O Lord, thou art our father; we are the clay, and thou our potter; and we all are the work of thy hand.  Isaiah 64:8

There is a poem called, “The Tea-cup”, I don’t know who wrote it, but it is appropriate to the idea that I just mentioned.  Essentially, the story goes that a couple went into a store, saw a tea-cup and when it was handed to the lady, it began to talk to her about the process it went through to be the beautiful cup it was.

The tea-cup begins to explain:  “There was a time when I was red clay.  My master took me and rolled me and patted me over and over and I yelled out.  “Let me alone,” but he only smiled, “Not yet!”

As each verse goes on the tea-cup tells of the process it went through.  it was put into an oven, taken out and brushed all over, put back into the oven, brushed and painted all over and put into the fire again, finally it was placed on a shelf.  An hour later the tea-cup was shown what it looked like, it said “That’s not me; that couldn’t be me.  It’s beautiful.  I’m beautiful.”

The master replied, “I want you to remember, I know it hurts, I know it made you dizzy, I know the fumes were bad.”  He explains why the process, why the oven, the fire was necessary, then he closes with these words:  “Now you are a finished product  You are what I had in mind when I first began with you.”

Each of us is at some stage of the process.  God knows what He wants, He alone has the picture, the plan, for each of our lives, our part is to yield to His way.  He is the potter and we are the clay.  There must be brokenness, a willingness to allow Him to mold us, there must be a yielding to the will of God so that He can complete that good work in us that He has begun when we received Jesus as our Lord and Savior.  Philippians 1:6

God is love!  Whatever He does is because of love.  When we go through hard times, it is because we are in the preparation process, there cannot be a resistance to the will of the potter and have the outcome that He planned for our lives.  Our self-centered willfulness must be broken, without it we will never be the container for His Glory that He has planned.  There is only one true and living God, we must yield the throne of our lives to Him.

Broken, yes, not to harm us, but in order that the plan of God for our lives may be completed, that we might be ready to be a vessel through which He can pour out His love and blessing upon others.

Each of us has been given a valuable and precious gift, the right to choose.  People and circumstances can influence, but we choose what we will do with our lives.  I remind us again that no choice is a choice.  Going with “the flow”, will take us down the path of “the devil, the world and the flesh.”, the Bible calls this worldly wisdom.  God always stands ready to give us His wisdom, but we don’t have when we don’t ask.  James 4:2

God desires that each of us be a Masterpiece.  There can be no Masterpiece without a Master craftsman.  Will you yield your will to God today and allow Him to make of you what He wills?

God bless you as you go through the process.

If you have not yet received Jesus as your Savior and Lord, today is the day of salvation.  Come on home, the Father is waiting to welcome you into His Kingdom, there is a special place reserved just for you.  Welcome Home!

Love in Jesus, Joy

 

 

Leave a Reply

